Ring of Fire

I can handle a little bit of spicy food, however I don’t want to burn my tongue or get a red face.  I cook my food with spices like oregano, cilantro, pepper, onions, and garlic. I’m Puerto Rican and we use a mix of spices to flavor our food.

Occasionally I find people who believe I can eat a Habanero or Jalapeño like a piece of candy.  They assume we all have the same type of food.

Let me tell you what happen to me a few years ago when I was working as the deli manager at the grocery store. One of the vendors came to the store excited with a new line of Latin food. He can wait to do the demonstration. He’s taking out some samples, brochures, and he has a well done speech. The Latin food he line up was spicy enchiladas, carnitas, tacos, tortillas, and refried beans. When he’s given me my first sample of a spicy enchilada he can’t wait for my reaction.

“Its taste fine, except being too spicy for me”; I said looking at him.

He stares at me confused.

“I prefer mild spicy. This is too hot for me”, I said.

He was staring at me all this time.  I smiled.

“Patrick with all your respect, I’m not Mexican”.

“Oh I thought you were Mexican”?

“It’s okay.  I’m Puerto Rican and we don’t cook the food too spicy”.

Patrick face turn red.

We both have a good laugh.

spicy

 

Daily Post: Do you love hot and spicy foods or do you avoid them for fear of what tomorrow might bring?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ring-of-fire/

2 thoughts on “Ring of Fire

Leave a Reply

