My favorite ingredients

When I moved to North Dakota trying to find my favorite seasonings were hard. They’re hardly a few Hispanic people.  My family from Puerto Rico use to send me by mail my seasonings and when they visited they will pack their luggage to keep my favorite goodies on hand.

Time has been changed. Every place you go you can hear someone speaking Spanish. The Hispanic community has been growing meaning I can get mostly what I need.

I love to cook and I without these three ingredients I will be lost.

  1. Sofrito Use this seasoning paste to enhance the taste of your dishes. It adds an amazing amount of flavor and balance! I make my own with all these ingredients:

-Mix all ingredients cut into large pieces in a food processor. – Process until the desired consistency

– Add salt and oil and mix well. – Then pour the mixture into a container with lid and store in refrigerator or if you make a lot of small container you can freeze them.

sofritosofrito2

 

 

2. Sazón: It’s a special blend of seasonings (including Coriander  & Annatto) that exists in most Puerto Rican households.

sofrito3

3. Adobo–  All Puerto Rican love Adobo. Composed variously of paprika, oregano, salt, garlic, and vinegar to preserve and enhance its flavor. Puerto Rican-style adobo is a seasoned salt that is generously sprinkled or rubbed on meats and seafood prior to grilling, sautéing, or frying.

sofrito4

Today’s Daily Prompt:

What’s the one item in your kitchen you can’t possibly cook without? A spice, your grandma’s measuring cup, instant ramen — what’s your magic ingredient, and why?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/ingredients/

 

3 thoughts on “My favorite ingredients

  1. Yours was a very informative post. Thanks, I enjoyed it? I have copied the names of the seasonings you use, and I am going to try them to find out how they affect my style of cooking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

