Futures Past

When I was 10 years old… I wanted to be a secretary.
The thought of wearing pretty dresses or a suit, having my own desk, taking notes, answering the phone it looks appealing to a young girl. Of course, this idea of the secretary came from watching a soap opera on TV. Then in the 70’s a song came out about a secretary falling in love with her boss the song keeps me dreaming of this fabulous job. Oh yes, I want to be a secretary.
I remember asking for my birthday a typewriter, notepads, and fountain pen. My mom and my aunt made my dream come true. I have fun with all my presents.  When I was in high school, I took a few classes of typewriting and shorthand (stenography). I have the opportunity to get an after school job at an office. Surprise, surprise it wasn’t what I was expecting. I realized I was living in a fantasy world and the dream to be a secretary start to fade.
Today I’m working as a kitchen supervisor in an elementary school. I will never imagine that I will end working in a kitchen, for the reason that I didn’t like to cook when I was growing up. I love taking care of the food program and watching the children getting healthy food. Working with them is an amazing experience. I have the perfect job.
Despite I’m not a secretary I’m happy the way everything turn up.
secretary2

then

food

now and loving it!

 

 

Daily Post:  As a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? How close or far are you from that vision?

https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/futures-past/

 

 

3 thoughts on “Futures Past

  1. Reading your post, i just suddenly had a flash of remembrance that my folks bought me a toy typewriter when I was a child. I can see it so clearly but can’t remember playing with it much. Is this a dream? I’ll have to ask my older sister. A typewriter and later a computer have come to be one of the most important elements in my life and I wonder if that had anything to do with it! http://judydykstrabrown.com/2015/07/09/foreign-tongues/

    Like

  2. Pingback: Older, and dafter too! | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

