Pretend

Today’s prompt is the word “Pretend”. How many people pretends a life they don’t have? Yes, I was that person.

When I was in elementary school, I would tell my mother how wonderful day I have when the truth I’ve been bullied. I start pretending a happiness a didn’t exist.

As I grow older, pretending became part of me. I started being depressed as early as I can remember. To keep it to myself, I pretend to look happy. The depression got worse over the years, especially when I was pregnant with my younger son.

Finally, I decide it was time to find help and tell my family without being ashamed. I’ve met others who are suffering with depression and I don’t feel alone anymore.

I’m thankful for the support I’ve received from my family. I don’t need to pretend no more.

 

 

Pretend

3 thoughts on “Pretend

  1. The Positive thinkers say you have act the way u want to be, I wonder how your pretend didn’t become reality. Anyways good one. God bless you and your family.

    Like

  2. I’m glad you finally told your family what you were really feeling. It’s a sad story, Margret, and you’d be surprised how many others have done just as you have–pretending everything is fine, when nothing is.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Author Interview – F.D. Lee – The Fairy’s Tale | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

