Storm again

Another winter storm here we go again.  I wake up early this morning, turn on the TV checking the local news if we have any school.  No cancelation in our district at all. I began to get ready for work and I can hear the wind blowing. I saw my car covered completely in snow again, the winds were 35 MPH and it was feeling like -15.  My husband drove me in his 4×4 truck. The road condition was bad a 3 minutes’ ride turn into some 15 minutes. We made it and walking to the school door was a challenge.

I’m the second person who gets to the school, the custodian is the first one to arrive and usually he’s on the other side of the building.  This morning was no signs of him, not even his storeroom was open. I thought he may be outside trying to shovel the door areas. I clock in 5 minutes earlier at 5:55am, turn the oven on, and turn on the computer to check my school email. The first message was from the school district “NO SCHOOL” on Tuesday, December 6th. Really, you send a message at 6:20am when I work at 6:00am. Do you know how many people start before 6:20am? I was upset, what a way to start my day. I’ve to call my husband and 15 minutes later we were back on the road. They were getting worse and the winds were making impossible the visibility.

We made it and I’m home safe with a cup of coffee in my hand.  My husband has to work, he fixed small engines and since last week he has been fixing 8-10 snow blowers daily. For the rest of my day, I would put up my Christmas tree, make some soup, lot of napping in between chores, and I hope this storm goes away. An update on the custodian, his vehicle was stuck on the road and he went back to his home.

snow-storm-12-6-16-2

snow-storm-12-6-16-3

 

snow-storm-12-6-16snow-storm-12-6-16-4

6 thoughts on “Storm again

  1. You posting reminds me of the one day a couple of winters when they closed the schools in Fairbanks, Alaska. Up here it usually is because of the temperature and the cut off for school is when it hits -50. I am sure the kids here are watching the weather because it has already hit -36 two days ago.

    Like

  2. Would so much like some snow here too! When I was a little child it was quite common, and my grandparents told me that it used to snow since end of November. But lately in the past 2 decades it has become so uncommon. We dream of some snow. So Christmas-y 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

